Aljoša Jurinić, piano | A Monument to Beethoven

Date created: 09.06.2020.
  • More
  • Performances
  • Articles
  • Galleries
  • Artists


A Monument to Beethoven

Ludwig van Beethoven: Andante favori in F major, WoO 57

Robert SchumannFantasie in C major, Op. 17

I. Durchaus phantastisch und leidenschaftlich vorzutragen – Im Legendenton – Erstes Tempo – Adagio – Im Tempo

II. Mässig: Durchaus energisch – Etwas bewegter – Viel bewegter

III. Langsam getragen: Durchweg leise zu halten – Etwas bewegter – Nach und nach bewegter und schneller – Adagio


Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy: Variations sérieuses in D minor, Op. 54

Ludwig van Beethoven: Sonata No. 21 in C major, Op. 53, ‘Waldstein’

Allegro con brio

Introduzione: Adagio molto

Rondo. Allegretto moderato – Prestissimo


Schumann and Mendelssohn composed these pieces for the purpose of raising a monument to Beethoven in his hometown of Bonn. The Andante favori was originally conceived as a movement of the Waldstein Sonata.


Aljoša Jurinić achieved his greatest international success in 2012, when he won the prestigious Robert Schumann Competition in composer’s hometown of Zwickau. In 2015 he was a finalist of the International Chopin Piano Competition in Warsaw. He is a laureate of the 2016 Queen Elisabeth Competition in Brussels and finalist of the 2018 Leeds International Piano Competition. He won a number of national and international competitions, including three international piano competitions in Italy: Encore! Shura Cherkassky International Piano Competition in Milan (2012), Luciano Luciani International Piano Competition in Cosenza and International Piano Competition in Massarosa (both in 2014).

He has won all major awards for young musicians in Croatia, most notably the Best Young Musician of the Year Award awarded by the Zagreb Philharmonic Orchestra (2012) and the Ivo Vuljević Award (2010); he also won the Ferdo Livadić Competition of Young Musicians in Samobor (2013), the Darko Lukić Award (2015), the Vladimir Nazor Award (2015) and the Milka Trnina Award (2017).

In 2019, Aljoša Jurinić received the medal of the Order of Danica Hrvatska bearing the effigy of Marko Marulić. That same year, his performance with cellist Luka Šulić at the 70 th Dubrovnik Summer Festival won the Orlando Award for the most valuable artistic achievement in the Festival’s music programme.


Dina Puhovski's text about the programme available here.



Powered by: