Zagreb Philharmonic Orchestra

Date created: 22.02.2014.
  • More
  • Performance

The Zagreb Philharmonic Orchestra, founded in 1871, is one of Croatia’s best-known orchestras. Thanks to its 141-year-long tradition, it is the main promoter of music art in Croatia as well as Croatia’s cultural ambassador in the world. Its history was formed by the most famous artists of the Croatian and world music scene: conductors Bruno Walter, Lorin Maazel, Friedrich Zaun, Lovro von Matačić, Kiril Kondrašin, Leopold Stokowski, Kazushi Ōno, Milan Horvat, Pavel Kogan, Zubin Mehta, Vjekoslav Šutej, Yehudi Menuhin; violinists David Oistrach, Igor Oistrach, Leonid Kogan, Henryk Szeryng, Nathan Milstein; cellist Mstislav Rostropovič; pianists Aldo Ciccolini and Ivo Pogorelić; singers Luciano Pavarotti, Monserrat Caballé and many others. A large number of tours and guest performances in the most important music centers in the world as well as many concert cycles in Croatia, including regular performances at the Dubrovnik Summer Festival, have given the Zagreb Philharmonic Orchestra the status of one of the most prominent Croatian cultural institutions in general.