Dubrovnik Symphony Orchestra

Date created: 24.06.2014.
  • More
  • Performance

Dubrovnik Symphony Orchestra was founded in 1924. Its first name was Dubrovnik Orchestra, but after only one year it was renamed into Dubrovnik Philharmonic Orchestra. At the time more and more young musicians and professionals were beginning to play in the orchestra and they performed complex music pieces under the batons of famous conductors Tadeusz Sygietynski and Josef Vlach Vruticki. Dubrovnik Philharmonic Orchestra had between thirty and fifty active members, which means that almost all instruments were included in it. In 1933 Kurorkestar was also founded in Dubrovnik (it was later renamed into City Tourist Orchestra); it was an independent chamber ensemble composed of approximately fifteen professional musicians who mostly played the polka, the waltz, opera pieces, operettas and popular classical pieces. Even though it was independent from the Dubrovnik Philharmonic, all the members of the Kurorkestar had to participate in the Dubrovnik Philharmonic’s work. In 1946 the City of Dubrovnik founded the Dubrovnik City Orchestra which was a professional institution and the main orchestra performing the music part of the Dubrovnik Summer Festival program (the Festival was established in 1950). In the 1980s the Orchestra was called Dubrovnik Festival Orchestra and in 1992 it was renamed into Dubrovnik Symphony Orchestra. This orchestra enriches the music life in Dubrovnik not only through its numerous performances but also through its dedication to pieces from different periods in music. The Rector’s Palace, the churches and squares of Dubrovnik are stages where the Orchestra – especially during the Dubrovnik Summer Festival – performs Baroque, Classical and Romantic pieces with the most significant Croatian and foreign conductors and soloists (Lovro von Matačić, Antonio Janigro, Zubin Mehta, Kiril Kondrashin, Ernst Marzendorfer, Milan Horvat, Pavle Dešpalj, Anton Nanut, David Ojstrah, Yehudi Menuhin, Mstislav Rostropovich, Svjatoslav Richter, Henryk Szeryng, Uto Ughi, Christoph Eschenbach, Stefan Milenkovich, Ivo Pogorelić, Ivan Pochekin, Nada Matošević, Michael Kissinger, Dubravka Tomšič, Dunja Vejzović, Ruža Pospiš Baldani, Monika Leskovar, Radovan Vlatković, Mischa Maisky, Yuri Bashmet, Julian Rachlin, Michel Legrand, Pavica Gvozdić, Mario Hossen...). Dubrovnik Symphony Orchestra has given numerous performances in Croatia, Europe (Bosnia and Herzegovina, Germany, Liechtenstein, Switzerland), the United States of America and Indonesia. The Orchestra is the winner of the most prestigious award for musicians in Croatia, the Milka Trnina Award for special artistic achievements. Since October 2018, the principal conductor of the Dubrovnik Symphony Orchestra is Marc Tardue.

C. Debussy: Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faun & R. Shchedrin: Carmen